Northeast High-Level Radioactive Waste Transportation

The Northeast High-Level Radioactive Waste Transportation Project works with state officials from CSG East’s member states to facilitate communication with the federal government about planning national nuclear waste shipment campaigns that operate within the region.

The project, funded through cooperative agreement grants from the U.S. Department of Energy, staffs the Northeast High-Level Radioactive Waste Transportation Task Force, which is composed of representatives from various levels of state government. The task force identifies and analyzes regional concerns about the transportation of high-level radioactive wastes and works with federal agencies to co-sponsor public forums, develop educational materials, and coordinate training for state officials and local emergency responders. The task force meets twice a year with federal officials to help develop federal transportation policies and programs to meet the needs of the region.

 

Northeast Task Force Member List

STATEPRIMARYALTERNATESTATE PARTICIPANT
CONNECTICUTJeffrey Semancik
Director
Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Management
Bureau of Air Management
Division of Radiation
79 Elm Street
Hartford, CT 06106-5127
Office: 860-424-4190
Cell: 860-597-3628
Jeffrey.semancik@ct.gov
Michael Firsick
Michael.firsick@ct.gov
Office: 860-424-3517
Cell: 860-916-1638
Pager: 860-939-4123
DELAWARERobert Brinsfield
Acting Administrator, Office of Radiation Control
Vacant
MAINEJay Hyland
Manager
Division of Environmental Health
Radiation Control Program
286 Water St.
Augusta, ME 04333
Office: 207-287-5677
jay.hyland@maine.gov
Tom Hillman
Division of Environmental Health
Radiation Control Program
286 Water St.
Augusta, ME 04333
Office: 207-287-8401
hillman@maine.gov
MASSACHUSETTSVacant
NEW HAMPSHIRERobert E. Gustafson
Asst. Chief of Planning / Radiological Emergency Preparedness
State of New Hampshire
Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management
Physical:
110 Smokey Bear Blvd.
Concord, NH 03301
Mail:
33 Hazen Dr.
Concord, NH 03305
Office: 603-223-8072
Cell: 603-931-2120
Fax: 603-223-3609
Robert.Gustafson@dos.nh.gov
NEW JERSEYJerry Humphreys
Bureau of Nuclear Engineering
New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection
33 Arctic Parkway, Mail Code 33-01
Trenton, NJ 08625-0420
Office: 609-984-7469
Cell: 609-372-5304
jerry.humphreys@dep.nj.gov
Ms. Veena Gubbi
Bureau of Nuclear Engineering
New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection
33 Arctic Parkway, Mail Code 33-01
Trenton, NJ 08625-0420
Veena.Gubbi@dep.nj.gov
NEW YORKVacantCynthia A. Costello, MS, MPH, CHP
Chief, Radiological Emergency Response Section
Chief, Environmental Radiation/Radon Section
NYS Department of Health
Bureau of Environmental Radiation Protection
Corning Tower - Room 1218
Empire State Plaza
Albany, NY 12237
Office: 518-402-7556
Fax: 518-402-7554
Cynthia.Costello@health.NY.gov
Nikhil Natarajan
Nikhil.Natarajan@dhses.ny.gov

Gary Machina
Gary.Machina@dhses.ny.gov

Patrick Coyle
Patrick.Coyle@dhses.ny.gov

Robert Kidder
Robert.Kidder@Troopers.ny.gov

James E. Turley, Sr.
Office of Counter Terrorism
Law Enforcement Coordinator
NYS Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Services
1220 Washington Avenue, Building 22
Albany, NY 12226
Office: 518-242-5084
Fax: 518-485-8432
Cell: 518-701-0533
James.Turley@dhses.ny.gov

Shaun P. Rooney
T/Sergeant
New York State Police, Division-Traffic Services
1220 Washington Avenue, BLDG 22
Albany, NY 12226
Office: 518-457-3258
Shaun.Rooney@troopers.ny.gov

PENNSYLVANIARich Janati
Bureau of Radiation Protection
Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection
P.O. Box 8469
Harrisburg, PA 17105-8469
Office: 717-787-2163
rjanati@state.pa.us
Wade DeHaas
Bureau of Radiation Protection
Pennsylvania Department Environmental Protection
P.O. Box 8469
Harrisburg, PA 17105-8469
Office: 717-787-2699
WDeHaas@pa.gov
Robert Meinert
2601 Interstate Dr.
Harrisburg, PA 17110
Office: 717-651-7071
rmeinert@pa.gov

David Allard
Director, Bureau of Radiation Protection
Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection
P.O. Box 8469
Harrisburg, PA 17105-8469
Office: 717-787-2480
djallard@pa.gov

Lt. Kerby Young
Pennsylvania State Police
Ops Commander for Domestic Security
1800 Elmerton Avenue
Harrisburg, PA 17110
Office: 717-346-2695
KerYoung@pa.gov

Alan R. Brinser
Planning Administrator
Technological Hazards Division
PEMA
2605 Interstate Dr.
Harrisburg, PA 17110
Office: 717-651-2217
abrinser@pa.gov

Sandra B. Silva
Emergency Management Specialist
Pennsylvania Emergency Management Agency
1310 Elmerton Ave.
Harrisburg, PA 17110
Office: 717-651-2235
Fax: 717-346-3105
www.PEMA.pa.gov

RAILROAD OFFICIALS

Lugene Bastian
lugene@pa.gov
Rodney Bender
Rodbender@pa.gov
Richard Rupp
ricrupp@pa.gov

RHODE ISLANDBryan Greenwood
Assistant Radiological Safety Officer
Rhode Island Emergency Management Agency
645 New London Ave.
Cranston, RI 02020
Office: 401-751-1516
Cell: 401-265-3676
Bryan.greenwood@doa.ri.gov
James Ball
Emergency Response Administrator
Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management
Office: 401-222-1360 x7129
Cell: 401-255-2904
James.ball@dem.ri.gov

VERMONTAnthony R. Leshinskie
State Nuclear Engineer and Decommissioning Coordinator
Vermont Public Service Department
112 State St.
Montpelier, VT 05620-2601
Office/Cell: 802-272-1714
Vermont Yankee Site Office: 802-258-5449
Anthony.Leshinskie@Vermont.gov
Dr. William Irwin
Chief
Radiological and Toxicological Science Program
Vermont Department of Health
108 Cherry St.
Burlington, VT 05402
Office: 802-863-7238
Bill.Irwin@Vermont.gov
SENECA NATION of INDIANSAnthony (Tony) Memmo
Project Manager, Seneca Energy
Seneca Nation of Indians
12837 Route 438
Irving, NY 14081
Office: 716-532-4900 x5022
a.memmo@sni.org

(Non-voting member)
MASHPEE WAMPANOAG TRIBENelson Andrews
Mashpee Wampanoag Tribe Liaison
Office: 508-477-5800
Cell: 774-327-8367
Nelson.Andrews@mwtribe-nsn.gov

(Non-voting member)

Contact

For more information on the Northeast High-Level Radioactive Waste Transportation Project, please contact the project’s director:

Uldis Vanags
Email: uvanags@csg.org
telephone: 207-404-0520