Welcome to the state profile page for Maine. Here you can find information about the state legislature, as well as important notices regarding the state’s response to the COVID-19 crisis.CSG East staff will be updating this page with the most recent information available.

For more information on state responses to COVID-19 please click here.

Session update:

As of March 17, session has been adjourned sine die

COVID-19 Update


Executive Branch

GovernorJanet Mills
Lieutenant GovernorNo Lieutenant Governor
Secretary of StateMatthew Dunlap
Attorney GeneralAaron Frey
TreasurerHenry Beck
AuditorPola Buckley

Legislative Branch

Senate President: Troy JacksonSpeaker of the House: Sara Gideon
Senate Majority Leader: Nate LibbyHouse Majority Leader: Matt Moonen
Seats: 35Seats: 151
Democrat: 21Democrat: 87
Republican: 14Republican: 56
Average Constituency Size: 38,229Average Constituency Size: 8,861
Length of Term: 2 yearsLength of Term: 2 years
Term Limit: 4 TermsTerm Limit: 4 Terms

Judicial Branch

Highest CourtMaine Supreme Court
Chief JusticeLeigh I. Saufley
Number of Justices7
U.S Circuit Court