Education and Workforce Development

The Education and Workforce Development Committee works with state officials from the 18 member jurisdictions of CSG’s Eastern region to provide a policy forum, a vehicle for sharing best practices, and structure for advocacy on education and workforce development issues affecting the region. The committee comprises education leaders from legislatures in each CSG East member jurisdiction. The committee shares emerging solutions from state governments nationwide and sets the education programming agenda throughout the year. In recent years, the committee has prioritized teacher interstate mobility, standardized testing, and student debt.

Committee Leadership

Image for:
Hanna Gallo
Rhode Island Senate President Pro Tempore; Chair, CSG East Education Committee
Rhode Island Senate President Pro Tempore Hanna M. Gallo was first elected to the Senate in 1998. She represents District 27, which includes the communities of Cranston and West Warwick. Sen. Gallo has been a longtime champion of quality public education
in Rhode Island and served for several years as chairwoman of the Senate Committee on Education. She has been instrumental in numerous education initiatives, including landmark legislation establishing an equitable, predictable, and transparent formula for funding education in Rhode Island. She led the charge for funding of full-day kindergarten statewide, which was enacted in 2015, and has been a leading advocate for universal prekindergarten programming. She was also the Senate sponsor of a law making civics proficiency a requirement for Rhode Island public high school graduates. In addition, she has been instrumental in bills to cut government red tape to allow businesses to operate more efficiently, thereby enabling them to grow their workforces. She has been active in efforts to improve workforce development programs so all Rhode Islanders have access to quality, good-paying jobs. Sen. Gallo was appointed as the chair of the CSG East Education and Workforce Development Committee in 2023. She and her husband, Russell, have two daughters, Julie and Laura.
Read More

Committee Roster

Sen. Ernesto Lopez (Delaware)
ConnecticutMassachusettsNova Scotia Québec
Rep. Michelle Cook
Rep. Carol Hall *
Rep. Kathleen McCarty *
Rep. Robert Sanchez
Sen. Adam Hinds *
Sen. Jason Lewis
Sen. Joan Lovely
Sen. Patrick O’Connor *
Rep. Alice Peisch
Rep. Paul Tucker
MLA Zac Churchill
MLA Suzanne Lohnes-Croft*
DelawareNew HampshirePennsylvaniaRhode Island
Sen. Laura Sturgeon
Rep. Debra Heffernan *
Rep. Earl Jaques
Rep. Sean Matthews *
Rep. Kimberly Williams
Sen. Jeanne Dietsch
Sen. Jay Kahn
Sen. David Watters *
Sen. Ruth Ward *
Rep. Rick Ladd
Rep. Linda Tanner
Sen. Thomas KillionSen. Hanna Gallo
Sen. Harold Metts
Sen. James Sheehan *
Sen. Ana Quezada *
Rep. Gregg Amore *
Rep. Justine Caldwell *
Rep. Joseph McNamara
Rep. William O’Brien
MaineNew JerseyPrince Edward IslandVermont
Rep. Gary Drinkwater *
Rep. Richard Farnsworth *
Rep. Victoria Kornfield
Rep. Heidi Sampson
Sen. Teresa Ruiz
Asw. Marlene Caride
(Vacant)Sen. Phil Baruth
Sen. Debbie Ingram
Rep. Peter Conlon
Rep. Katherine James *
Rep. Casey Toof *
Rep. Kate Webb
MarylandNew YorkPuerto RicoU.S. Virgin Islands
Sen. Bill Ferguson
Sen. Nancy King *
Sen. Paul Pinksy
Sen. Andrew Serafini *
Sp. Adrienne Jones
Del. Anne Kaiser
Del. Haven Shoemaker *
Del. Alonzo Washington *
(Vacant)Sen. Eduardo Bhatia *
Sen. Luis Muniz *
Sen. Abel Nazario
Sen. Margarita Nolasco
Rep. Yashira Lebron *
Rep. Brenda Lopez *
Rep. Guillermo Miranda
Rep. Rafael Ortega
Sen. Donna Frett-Gregory
Sen. Javan James *


For more information on the committee or its recent work, please contact staff liaison

Andrew Johnson
direct: 859-244-8122