Rhode Island

Welcome to the state profile page for Rhode Island. Here you can find information about the state legislature, as well as important notices regarding the state’s response to the COVID-19 crisis. CSG East staff will be updating this page with the most recent information available.

For more information on state responses to COVID-19 please click here.

Session update:

Session and committee meetings have been cancelled through May 1.


Executive Branch

GovernorGina Raimondo
Lieutenant GovernorDaniel McKee
Secretary of StateNellie Gorbea
Attorney GeneralPeter Neronha
TreasurerSeth Magaziner

Legislative Branch

Senate President: Dominick J. RuggerioSpeaker of the House: Nicholas A. Mattiello
Senate Majority Leader: Michael J. McCaffreyMajority Leader: K. Joseph Shekarchi
Senate Democratic Leader: Dennis L. AlgiereHouse Republican Leader: Blake A. Filippi
Seats: 38Seats: 75
Democrat: 33Democrat: 66
Republican: 5Republican: 9
Average Constituency Size: 27,816Average Constituency Size: 14,093
Length of Term: 2 yearsLength of Term: 2 years
Term Limit: No limitTerm Limit: No limit

Judicial Branch

Highest CourtRhode Island Supreme Court
Number of Justices5
Chief JusticePaul Suttell
U.S Circuit Court1st Circuit