Four regional leaders chosen for CSG 20 Under 40 leadership award

September 16, 2021

The Council of State Governments announced on Monday the 2021 recipients of the CSG 20 Under 40 Leadership Award. This annual honor recognizes the outstanding work of 20 up-and-coming elected and appointed officials from across the country who not only exemplify strong leadership skills but have also demonstrated a true commitment to serving the citizens of their states.

“The state officials named to the 2021 class of The Council of State Governments 20 Under 40 Leadership Award represent a broad cross-section of the exceptional leaders that successfully govern our states,” said David Adkins, CSG executive director/CEO. “Those recognized this year come from diverse backgrounds, different political parties, different branches of state government and from every region of our country, but they share a singular commitment to make a difference for those they serve.”

“The hard-working leaders recognized with the CSG 20 Under 40 Leadership Award have demonstrated the ability to productively collaborate to achieve consensus and produce results,” Adkins said. “While they may be young, their public service honors the oldest and best values of our democracy.”

Congratulations to these leaders from the Eastern Region:

Rep. Jacquelyn Baginski, Rhode Island

Representative Jacquelyn Baginski (D-Dist. 17, Cranston) was elected to the Rhode Island House of Representatives in November 2020. She is a member of the House Finance Committee and the House State Government and Elections Committee. She is a graduate of the Moses Brown School in Providence and of George Washington University

Director Cerron Cade, Delaware
Cerron Cade is the Director of the Delaware Office of Management and Budget. He was appointed by Governor John Carney in January of 2021 and previously
served as the Delaware Secretary of Labor, where he expanded access to job training, strengthened labor law enforcement, and led Delaware’s workforce development and Unemployment Insurance programs through the COVID-19 pandemic. Prior to the Department of Labor, he served as the Acting Director of the Delaware Economic Development Office. Cerron has a bachelor’s degree in Political Science and a master’s degree in Public Administration from Delaware State University.

Sen. Cory McCray, Maryland

Senator Cory McCray (Dist. 45, Baltimore City) has served in the Maryland Senate since January 9, 2019 and is currently the Deputy Majority Whip. He previously served in the House of Delegates from 2015 to 2019. Sen. McCray serves on the Budget and Taxation Committee, the Joint Audit and Evaluation Committee, and several subcommittees in the Senate. He was born and raised in Baltimore and is a member of the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW).

Rep. Sean Scanlon, Connecticut

Representative Sean Scanlon is currently serving his fourth term and is the House chairman of the Finance, Revenue and Bonding committee. During his first term, Sean led the legislature’s effort to combat Connecticut’s opioid epidemic and became a leading voice on issues of mental health and addiction. In addition to serving as House chairman of the Finance Committee, Sean is a member of the Public Health committee.


The Council of State Governments is a nonpartisan organization that brings state officials together to learn from each other and to craft solutions to today’s public policy challenges.

Award recipients will be honored at the 2021 CSG National Conference in Santa Fe, New Mexico in December.

To learn more about the 20 Under 40 Leadership Award, visit

You might also be interested in