New Jersey

Welcome to the state profile page for New Jersey. Here you can find information about the state legislature, as well as important notices regarding the state’s response to the COVID-19 crisis.

COVID-19 Updates


COVID-19 Info for New Jersey

(link opens in a new tab)

CSG East staff will be updating this page with the most recent information available.

For more information on state responses to COVID-19 please click here.

Session update: The Assembly is adjourned until May 4, but legislators have conducted a voting session by phone. Senate adjourned until further notice.



Gold dome on white stone statehouse

State House, Trenton


Executive Branch

GovernorPhil Murphy
Lieutenant GovernorSheila Oliver
Secretary of StateTahesha Way, Esq.
Attorney GeneralGurbir Singh Grewal
TreasurerElizabeth Maher Muoio
AuditorStephen Eells

Legislative Branch

Senate President : Nicholas ScutariSpeaker of the Assembly: Craig Coughlin
Senate Majority Leader: Teresa RuizAssembly Majority Leader: Louis Greenwald
Seats: 40Seats: 80
Democrat: 25Democrat: 52
Republican: 15Republican: 28
Average Constituency Size: 222,725Average Constituency Size: 111,363
Length of Term: 4 yearsLength of Term: 2 years
Term Limit: No limitTerm Limit: No limit

Judicial Branch

Highest CourtSupreme Court of New Jersey
Number of Justices7
Chief JusticeStuart Rabner
U.S Circuit Court3rd Circuit