Agriculture and Rural Affairs

CSG East’s Agriculture and Rural Affairs Committee grew out of the Northeast States Association for Agricultural Stewardship (NSAAS), which was created in 1999 to provide a unified voice for northeast agriculture in the development of the 2002 Farm Bill. Committee members promote the importance of agriculture in the Northeast and to the U.S. economy, and focus of issues of concern to the rural economy. The committee has recently held seminars focusing on rural broadband, the right to farm, and agritourism.

Committee Leadership

headshot of Pennsylvania Senator Schwank
Judy Schwank
Senator, Pennsylvania
Senator Judy Schwank studied at Pennsylvania State University where she received her bachelor of science degree in agricultural education, and a master's degree in agricultural education with a horticulture minor. She went on to become an agriculture extension agent with
the Cooperative Extension, and then dean of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences at Delaware Valley College. Judy Schwank was elected county commissioner for Berks County in 2002, and was first elected to the Pennsylvania Senate in 2011, where she has served as minority chair of the Agriculture Committee. Senator Schwank was appointed as co-chair of the Agriculture and Rural Affairs Committee for CSG East in 2020.
Read More
Image for:
Brian Pettyjohn
Senator, Delaware
State Senator Brian Pettyjohn of Georgetown was first elected to the Senate in 2012. He proudly represents Delaware’s 19th Senatorial District which spans from the Delaware/Maryland border west of Seaford and Bridgeville to Massey's Landing on the Rehoboth and Indian
River Bays. Senator Pettyjohn speaks at the session titled Rural Broadband: Helping States Fund the Final Mile on Tuesday, August 16 at 8 a.m. Before his current seat in the Delaware State Senate, Senator Pettyjohn served as councilman of Georgetown from 2008-2010 and Mayor from 2010-2012. In the 2021-2022 Senate Term, Senator Brian Pettyjohn’s committee assignments include the Corrections and Public Safety, Executive, Health and Social Services, Housing, Judiciary, Legislative Council, Legislative Oversight, and Sunset, and Rules and Ethics committees.  He has also been named to several other boards and committees, including the Delaware Prosperity Partnership and Non-Acute Patient Medical Guardianship Task Force. Continuing in his commitment to his community, Senator Brian Pettyjohn has served on several organizations including the Greater Georgetown Chamber of Commerce, The Chad Spicer Foundation, and the Sussex County Sports Foundation. Outside of his legislative and community involvement, Senator Pettyjohn manages his family's farm south of Georgetown, and is a project manager and auditor with an information technology firm.
Read More

Committee Roster

Rep. Carolyn Partridge (Vermont)
Sen. Judy Schwank (Pennsylvania)
ConnecticutMassachusettsNova Scotia Québec
Rep. David Arconti
Rep. Doug Dubitsky *
Rep. Kevin Ryan
Rep. Tammy Zawistowski *
Sen. James Eldridge
Sen. Anne Gobi
Sen. Edward Kennedy *
Sen. Walter Timilty *
Rep. Paul Schmid
Rep. Roselee Vincent
MLA Leo Glavine
MLA Chuck Porter
MNA Sylvain Lévesque
DelawareNew HampshirePennsylvaniaRhode Island
Sen. Bruce C. Ennis
Sen. Bryant L. Richardson
Rep. William Bush *
Rep. William Carson
Rep. Ronald Gray
Rep. Jesse Vanderwende *
Sen. Jim Gray *
Sen. Jay Kahn
Sen. David Starr *
Sen. David Watters
Rep. John O’ Connor
Rep. Suzanne Smith
Sen. Elder VogelSen. Stephen Archambault *
Sen. Cythnia Coyne
Sen. Gordon Rogers
Sen. Susan Sosnowski
Rep. Michael Chippendale *
Rep. John Edwards
Rep. Alex Marszalkowski
MaineNew JerseyPrince Edward IslandVermont
Rep. Craig Hickman
Rep. MaryAnne Kinney
Rep. Margaret O’Neil *
Rep. Thomas Skolfield *
Sen. Bob Andrzejczak
Asm. Adam Taliaferro *
MLA Robert HendersonSen. Chris Pearson
Sen. Bobby Starr
Rep. John Bartholomew
Rep. Thomas Bock *
Rep. Terry Norris *
MarylandNew YorkPuerto RicoU.S. Virgin Islands
Sen. Adelaide Eckardt *
Sen. Sarah Elfreth
Sen. Katie Fry Hester *
Sen. J.B. Jennings
Del. Carl Anderton
Del. Charles Otto*
Asw. Carrie WoernerSen. Luis Berdiel
Sen. Nelson Cruz
Sen. Jose Perez *
Sen. Cirilo Tirado *
Rep. Carlos Bianchi
Rep. Anibal Diaz *
Rep. Joel Franqui
Rep. Felix Lasalle *
Sen. Allison DeGazon


For more information on the CSG East Agriculture and Rural Affairs Committee, please contact the committee’s consultants:

Tara Sad

Bob Haefner