Meeting of the Northeast High-Level Radioactive Waste Transportation Task Force 2020 Fall (Part 1) Vitual Meeting October 29, 2020, 10:30am to 12:00pm EST Via Zoom

Due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, the fall meeting of the Northeast High-Level Radioactive Waste Transportation Task Force (Task Force) was held virtually on October 29, 2020 from 10:30am to 12:00pm. The meeting was co-chaired by Jerry Humphreys of New Jersey, and Wade DeHaas of Pennslyvania. All ten member states of the Task Force were represented:

CT - Jeffry Semancik and Michael Firsick DE - Robert Brinsfield ME - Jay Hyland MA - Dawn Brantley NH - Jennifer Schwab NJ - Jerry Humphreys and Veena Gubbi PA - Rich Janati and Wade DeHaas RI - Brian Greenwood VT -Tony Leshinskie NY - Cynthia Costello

Also joining the Task Force were Tony Memmo of the Seneca Nation of Indians, and Nelson Andrews of the Mashpee Wampanoag Tribe.

The meeting began with opening remarks and introductions, and then staff gave a brief update explaining that the fall meeting will be in two parts this year. The second half of the fall meeting will be scheduled sometime in mid-December.

At this meeting an election of a co-chair took place. Jerry Humphreys two year term as co-chair was fulfilled, and the Task Force undertook proceedings to elect a co-chiar for another two year term. Staff proposed a change in the election process that was consistant with the rules of the Task Force. Rather than have nominations and a vote during the meeting, staff proposed accepting nominations, and then the vote would be held by Doodle Poll to enable members to vote annominously. Three candidates for co-chair were nominated; they were Jerry Humphreys of NJ, Veena Gubbi of NJ, and Michael Firsick of CT. All ten states responded to the Doodle Poll to vote and Jerry Humphreys received 5 votes, Veena Gubbi received 3 votes and Michael Firsick received 2 votes. Jerry Humphreys was announced as a co-chair for the next two years.

Following the updates, the Task Force held its business meeting. The presentations/presenters were:

• Update on 3Yankee's – Eric Howes, Government Affairs, 3 Yankee's (power point provided)

- Update on DOE Order 460.2 Ellen Edge, Office of Transportation and Packaging, USDOE-EM; Julia Shenk, DOE Office of Packaging and Transportation; and, Dr. Erica Bickford, Transportation Program Manager, US DOE Office of Nuclear Energy
- Lessons Learned from the Canadian Shipping Campaign

Pennsylvania: Rich Janati, PA Retired Annuitant, Bureau of Radiation Protection; Wade Dehaas, PA Bureau of Radiation (power point provided); Lt Kirby Young, PA State Police

Seneca Nation of Indians: Tony Memmo, Project Manager

New York: Sergeant Shaun Rooney, New York State Police, Division of Traffic Services

The Task Force also heard from Jeff Gallen, Program Manager, Office of Nuclear Material Removal, National Nuclear Security Administration (NNSA) who managed the program for the transporation of nuclear material from the Chalk River National Laboratories in Ontario, Canada to the Savanah River National Laboratory in South Carolina.

The Agenda for this meeting is provided as Attachment 1.

The meeting was adjourned at 12:20 PM on October 29, 2020.

Presentations provided at this meeting as well as this summary are available on: <u>https://csg-erc.org/policies/northeast-high-level-radioactive-waste-transportation/</u>

ATTACHMENT 1 Agenda

Northeast High-Level Radioactive Waste Transportation Task Force 2020 Fall Virtual Meeting October 29, 2020, 10:30am to 12:00pm EST

Thursday, Oct 29

- **10:30 AM Task Force Business Meeting** Co-chairs Jerry Humphreys, NJDEP, and Wade DeHaas, PADEP presiding
 - Welcome, Opening Remarks, and Introductions
 - Update on Task Force Uldis Vanags, CSG/ERC
 - Election of Co-Chair
- **10:45 AM DOE Order 460.2 -** Dr. Erica Bickford, Transportation Program Manager, US Department of Energy Office of Nuclear Energy
- **11:00 AM** Update on the 3 Yankee's Eric Howes, Director Public & Government Affairs, Maine Yankee
- 11:20 AM Lessons Learned from the Canadian Shipping Campaign

Pennsylvania: Rich Janati, PA Retired Annuitant, Bureau of Radiation Protection: Wade Dehaas, PA Bureau of Radiation Protection; Lt Kirby Young, PA State Police

Seneca Nation of Indians: Tony Memmo, Project Manager

New York: Sergeant Shaun Rooney, New York State Police, Division of Traffic Services

11:58 AM Wrap-up – Next 1 ½ hour Zoom meeting in November - December 2020

12:00 PM Adjourn