## Meeting of the Northeast High-Level Radioactive Waste Transportation Task Force 2025 Spring Meeting May 21, 2025 at the Paris Las Vegas 3655 S Las Vegas BLVD Las Vegas, Nevada 89109

The 2025 Spring meeting of the Northeast High-Level Radioactive Waste Transportation Task Force was held on May 21, at the Paris Las Vegas Hotel in Las Vegas, Nevada in conjunction with the 2025 NTSF Annual Meeting. Seven of the ten northeast states were represented with the exceptions of Delaware, New Hampshire and Rhode Island. (A few days before the meeting CSG-East was informed that the representative for Rhode Island, scheduled to be at the meeting, had to cancel due to medical reasons.) An attendance list is provided as Attachment 1.

Members present from the seven northeast states were:

CT - Michael Firsick – Co-chair NJ – Jerry Humphreys – Co-chair PA - Laurin Fleming, Sandra Silva, Troy Prutzman VT - Tony Leshinskie NY- Alyse Peterson and Larry King ME – Faith Staples and Darren Curtis MA – David Bryant

This meeting was presided by Task Force co-chairs Jerry Humphreys (PA) and Mike Firsick (CT). The meeting began with opening remarks and introductions by Co-chair Jerry Humphreys. Uldis Vanags then welcomed all to the Spring meeting of the Task Force and went over some administrative details for the members.

Following the updates, the Task Force held its business meeting. The draft agenda is provided as Attachment 2 and presentations provided were as follows:

**Briefing on New York State Initiative to develop and site Advanced Power Reactors** – Alyse Peterson, Senior Advisor for Nuclear Coordination and Radioactive Waste Policy, NYSERDA, New York

TEPP Update – Mark Linsley, CHP, TRG, Contractor to U.S. DOE

**DOE Drop in to Answer Questions** – Dr. Erica Bickford, Director Office of Storage and Transportation, DOE, Sara Hogan, PhD, DOE

**NWTRB Update** – Daniel Ogg, Executive Director U.S. Nuclear Waste Technical Review Board

**Summary of New Nuclear Builds** – Tony Leshinskie, State Nuclear Engineer, Vermont Department of Public Service,

After these presentations, a roundtable was held for member states of the Northeast Task Force.

The meeting adjourned at 5:30 PM on May 21, 2025.

This summary and presentations are posted on the CSG/ERC website at: <u>https://csg-erc.org/policies/northeast-high-level-radioactive-waste-transportation/</u>

# Attachment 1

		May 21, 2025
	Name	c-mail
	Name Mane Manags	Wanugs @ csg. org
	Mike Firscok	michael. firsiche ct.gov
	JERRY HUMPHREYS	JERRY, HUMPHREYS @ DEP. NJ. GOV
	SAVORA SILVA	SAN STLUA @ PA. Gow
	LAUREN FLOMENE	lactle ming @ for Con
1	Mark Linsley	mark@trgrapicc.com
	Troy Prutzman	trprutzman@pa.gov
	ALYSE PETERION	ALYSE. PETERION @ NYSERDA. NY. 60
	TONY LESHINGKIE	ANTHONY, LESITINGKIE QUERHONT GOV
	Daman Curris	Danen. J. Curchis @ Maine. Gov
	Faith Staples	Faith.e. staples @maine.gov
	David Bryant	david. bygant@ mass.gov
	Dina Carpenter-Graffy	dina . carpenter - graffy @ punl. gov
	Larry King	Larry. Kung @ Troopers. NY. gov

### Attachment 2



#### <u>DRAFT Agenda – Rev 1</u> Northeast High-Level Radioactive Waste Transportation Task Force Spring Meeting May 21, 2025 at the Paris Las Vegas 3655 S Las Vegas BLVD. Las Vegas, Nevada 89109

#### Wednesday - May 21

1:00 pm	<ul> <li>Task Force Business Meeting – Co-chair's Jerry Humphreys, NJDEP, and Mike Firsick, CTDEP presiding.</li> <li>Welcome, Opening Remarks, and Introductions</li> <li>Update on Task Force – Uldis Vanags, CSG/ERC</li> </ul>	
1:30 pm	Briefing from Alyse Peterson, Senior Advisor for Nuclear Coordination and Radioactive Waste Policy, NYSERDA - New York activities relating to the Advanced Nuclear First Movers Initiative	
1:45 pm	TEPP Update - Mark Linsley, CHP, TRG, Contractor to U.S. DOE	
2:15 pm	DOE Drop-in for Introductions and Questions	
2:45 pm	Break	
3:00 pm	Daniel Ogg, Executive Director U.S. Nuclear Waste Technical Review Board (NWTRB) - Update	
3:30 pm	Summary of New Nuclear Builds – Tony Leshinskie, State Nuclear Safety Inspector, Department of Public Service, Vermont	
3:55 pm	Break	
4:10 pm	Round Table	
5:15 pm	Wrap-up	
5:30 pm	Adjourn	

CT + DE + MA + MD + MF + NB + NH + NJ + NY + NS + ON + PA + PE + PR + OC + RI + VI + VT

K. Joseph Shekarchi, Speaker of the House, Rhede Island, Co Chair Dominick J. Ruggeric, President of the Senate, Rhede Island, Co Chair

Jason Moselley, Interim Director

WWW.CSG-ERC.ORG + 212.462.2320 + 22 CORTLANDT STREET, 22ND FLOOR + NEW YORK, NY 10007