Meeting of the Northeast High-Level Radioactive Waste Transportation Task Force 2023 Fall Meeting

October 25-26, 2023

at the

Portland Regency Hotel 20 Milk Street Portland, Maine 04101

The 2023 Fall meeting of the Northeast High-Level Radioactive Waste Transportation Task Force was held October 25-26, 2023, at the Portland Regency Hotel. Co-chairs Jerry Humphreys of New Jersey and Wade DeHaas of Pennsylvania conducted the meeting. Eight of the ten northeast states were represented with the exceptions of Delaware and New Hampshire. An attendance list is provided as Attachment 1.

Members present from the six northeast states were:

CT - Michael Firsick

NJ – Jerry Hunphreys and Veena Gubbi

PA - Wade DeHaas, Laurin Fleming, Kerby Young

RI - Brian Greenwood and James Ball

VT - Tony Leshinskie

NY- Cynthia Costello and Alyse Petterson

ME – Faith Staples and Darren Curtis

MA – David Bryant

The meeting began with opening remarks and introductions by Co-chair Jerry Humphreys. New members to the Task Force from MA, NH, and ME were introduced. An election for the co-chair seat of Wade DeHaas was held. Michael Firsick was nominated, and the vote was unanimous for his appointment to a two-year term as a new co-chair.

Following the updates, the Task Force held its business meeting. The draft agenda is provided as Attachment 2 and presentations provided were as follows:

Update on the 3Yankee's -Eric Howes, Director Public & Government Affairs, Maine Yankee **Three Mile Island SNF Transportation Issues** – David Allard, Retired PA DEP Director of the Bureau of Radiation Protection, MS, CHP, FHPS

TEPP Update – Mark Linsley, CHP, TRG, Contractor to U.S. DOE

Update from DOE Environmental Management - Ellen Edge, Office of Packaging and Transportation, DOE

Preliminary Results of Three Mile Island SNF Removal Assessment – Mariam Junkett, Pacific Northwest Nuclear Laboratory

Update on DOE Nuclear Energy Interim Storage Siting Consensus Process – Sara Hogan, PhD, DOE Nuclear Energy

Update on Transport Security Unified Stakeholders Group (TSUSG) – Mark Yeager, Government and NGO Liaison, Contractor, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Practical Application of the RASCAL Dose Assessment Code – Mike Firsick, Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Management, Division of Radiation. Provided a computer program presentation.

Update on NTSF Ad Hoc Working Groups – Sara Hogan, PhD, DOE Nuclear Energy **Massachusetts Update on Pilgrim** – David Bryant, Massachusetts Emergency Management Agency

Presentations were followed by updates from the State Regional Groups (CSG-Midwest, SSEB, and WEIB), and by the Tribal Radioactive Materials Technical Committee (TRMTC). After these updates, a roundtable was held for member states of the Northeast Task Force.

Prior to meeting adjournment, Eric Howe, representing the 3Yankee's, was recognized for his for his long-term involvement with the Northeast Task Force where he presented at all the meetings information on the status of national and regional efforts to resolve the spent nuclear fuel issue, and also made experts from the 3Yankee's available on specific technical issues affecting the decommissioned Yankee nuclear power sites.

The meeting adjourned at 11:00 AM on October 26, 2023.

This summary and presentations are posted on the CSG/ERC website at: https://csg-erc.org/policies/northeast-high-level-radioactive-waste-transportation/

Name conganization consil
Mark Yeager Oak Ridge National Laboratory yeagema@oral.gov
Veena Gubbi N. J. Department of Favir Andrew Vernagy bbigar
TORY LEBHINGRE VT PUBLIC SETENCE DEPT. QUERTICATE GOV
Demon Curtis Maino Emorgancy Monogarizat Ogency & maino , Gar
Faith Stoples Haine EMA faith e staples Chaine
KERBY YOUNG PASTATE POLICE KERYOUNG @ PA. GOV
Dave Allard TIME CAP allradoon Coomcust-net
Cynthia Costello NYS Dept- of Heath heath my, GoV SWAPAN SAHA KS DW of Emery Mynnt. Swapan Saha Ol NS. gov
Ellon Edge US DOE-EM ellen.edge @ en.doe.gov
Mike Firstick CTDEEP-Roduction michael firster ectigor
Richard Arnold TRATE rumanold@hotrail.com
Eletha Trigillo with Non eletha trujillo 100 cmard nomen
Mirram Juckett Pacific Northwest National Lab mirram juckett@pnn1 gar
SOFTING MOORE US DOT/Foodbrol Railand Admission rector, moore @dot. 95V
BrayAN GREENWOOD RIEMA Bryan. Greenwal & amairiga
LAUKEN FLEMENG PEMA laufleming @fa.gov.
James Ball RIDEM James ball @dem. Tigou
David Bryant MA MEMA dovid bryant @ mass.gov
Steven Nacck Worth Stage Versond Yanker SMECK @ North Stage com
ALYSE PETERON NYSERNA ALYSE PETERON @ NYSERIA
JERRY HUMPHARTS NJ DEP NUMBER ENWARERING JERRY, humphroystadep. NJ-301
Wade Dellass PA DEP BRP Nuc Safety Widehas @PA.600
C 11
Son Hogen US BOE-NE Sara hogan@nuclear energy

DRAFT Agenda – Rev 3

Northeast High-Level Radioactive Waste Transportation Task Force
Fall Meeting
October 25-26, 2023
at the
Portland Regency Hotel
20 Milk Street
Portland, Maine 04101

207-774-4200

<u>Wednesday – October 25</u>

7:30 am	Breakfast Served
9:00 am	 Task Force Business Meeting – Co-chair's Jerry Humphreys, NJDEP, and Wade DeHaas, PADEP presiding. Welcome, Opening Remarks, and Introductions Update on Task Force – Uldis Vanags, CSG/ERC Election of Co-Chair for 2-year term
9:30 am	Update on the 3 Yankee's – Eric Howes, Director Public & Government Affairs, Maine Yankee
10:00 am	Three Mile Island SNF Transportation Issues – David Allard, MS, CHP, FHPS
10:30 am	Break
10:45 am	Update from DOE Environmental Management – Ellen Edge, Office of Packaging and Transportation, DOE
11:05 am	TEPP Update – Mark Linsley, CHP, TRG, Contractor to U.S. DOE
Noon	Lunch (on your own)
1:00 pm	Preliminary Results of Three Mile Island SNF Removal Assessment – Mariam Juckett, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
1:45 pm	Update on Transport Security Unified Stakeholders Group (TSUSG) – Mark Yeager, Government and NGO Liaison, Contractor, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
2:20 pm	Short Break

2:30 pm Update on DOE Nuclear Energy Interim Storage Siting Consensus Process –

Sara Hogan, PhD, DOE Nuclear Energy

3:00 pm Break

3:30 pm Practical Application of the RASCAL Dose Assessment Code – Mike Firsick,

Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Management, Division of

Radiation

4:30 pm Update on NTSF Ad Hoc Working Groups - Sara Hogan, PhD, DOE Nuclear

Energy

5:00 pm Adjourn

Thursday - October 26

7:30 am Breakfast served.

8:30 am State Regional Group and Tribal updates

CSG-Midwest

TRMTC SSEB WEIB

9:00 am Roundtable Discussion

10:00 am Break

10:15 am Continue Roundtable

10:55 am Wrap-up

11:00 am Adjourn