

Eastern Regional Conference

22 Cortlandt Street, Fl. 22 New York, NY 10007 T: (212) 482-2320 F: (212) 587-4188 www.csg-erc.org

Co-Chairs Senator Theresa Gerratana Connecticut

Representative Kevin Ryan Deputy Speaker Connecticut

Director Wendell M. Hannaford **RESOLUTION # EDU-2017-01**

RESOLUTION IN SUPPORT OF FUNDING FOR ELL STUDENTS

Whereas, students who are English Language Learners, or ELL participate in language assistance programs to help ensure they meet the same academic content and achievement standards that all students are expected to meet; and

Whereas, the percentage of public school students in the U.S. who were ELL was higher in school year 2014-2015 (9.4% or 4.6 million students) than in 2004-2005 (9.1% or 4.3 million students); and

Whereas, in school year 2014-2015 a greater percentage of public school students in lower grades than in upper grades were ELL students. For example, 16.7% of kindergarteners were ELL compared to 7.8% of 6^{th} graders; and

Whereas, ELL students need language supports and family engagement that are accessible and translated for their parents and families to best succeed in school; and

Therefore Be It Resolved That, CSG/ERC urges the federal Executive and Legislative Branches provide states the funding, support and flexibility to best meet the needs of ELL students and their families; and

Be It Further Resolved, that copies of this resolution be forwarded to the Majority and Minority Leaders of the U.S. Senate, the Speaker and Minority Leader of the U.S. House of Representatives, and the U.S. Secretary of Education.

Adopted August 16 at the CSG/ERC Annual Meeting and Policy Forum Uncasville, Connecticut

Connecticut • Delaware • Maine • Maryland • Massachusetts • New Brunswick • New Hampshire • New Jersey • New York Nova Scotia • Ontario • Pennsylvania • Prince Edward Island • Puerto Rico • Québec • Rhode Island • U.S. Virgin Islands • Vermont

Connecticut • Delaware • Maine • Maryland • Massachusetts • New Brunswick • New Hampshire • New Jersey • New York Nova Scotia • Ontario • Pennsylvania • Prince Edward Island • Puerto Rico • Québec • Rhode Island • U.S. Virgin Islands • Vermont